Teriyaki Beef Stir Fry

I think tonight was my least favourite dish… it was lacking slightly in flavour… however… it was still tasty enough to satisfy me! I think the problem is that a) I kinda suck at stirfries and b) I totally need to buy a wok! Maybe shopping this weekend while my sous chef grump is away 🙂

Teriyaki Beef Stir-Fry

  • 2 tablespoons peanut oil
  • 2 teaspoons sesame oil (I found that after cooking the beef I needed to clean out the pan and re-oil)
  • 600g beef rump steak, sliced thinly
  • Teriyaki sauce
  • 1 brown onion sliced
  • 2-3 cloves garlic
  • 1 small red chilli finely sliced
  • 230g can bamboo shoots, rinsed, drained
  • Baby corn
  • 230g can bean sprouts, rinsed, drained
  • Snow peas
  • 1/3 cup beef stock
  • 450g hokkien noodles
  • 4 green onions (shallots), sliced

Make sure you have all your ingredients chopped, sliced and ready to go. I also make sure that my noodles have been separated. I do this by putting them in a colander and running hot water over them to break them apart.

  1. Put beef in a bowl and  cover with teriyaki sauce.
  2. Heat oils in wok or large frypan and stirfry beef in batches. (put cooked beef on a plate or in a bowl for now)
  3. Stirfry onion, bamboo shoots, garlic, and chilli for about 2 minutes.
  4. Add baby corn, beef, snow peas, and bean sprouts. Stir in stock and about 1/4 cup of teriyaki sauce.
  5. Stirfry until mixture boils
  6. Mix through the noodles
  7. Add the green onions just before serving

 

Beef after frying

 

 

Yummy ingredients

 

 

Noodles ready to go in

 

 

Ingredients in frypan prior to adding noodles

 

 

Noodle tossing action

 

 

Close up of noodley goodness

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. spottedpufferfish
    Oct 18, 2010 @ 17:53:52

    Ooh, I LOVE your scales!!!! How supercool and retro!!!!

    Reply

  2. chefsas
    Oct 18, 2010 @ 18:36:53

    I know!! How awesome are they! I found them at the dymocks stationary store in the city when it was closing. They were selling everything!

    Reply

Leave a comment